Butte College Scholarship Awards

On February 19th, Soroptimist International of Chico awarded scholarships to five talented young ladies who are committed to achieving their academic goals and who demonstrate potential to be successful in their future career paths.

Laura Arriaza and Casey Crawford are the winners of the Butte College scholarships award for 2014

Also honored on this day are Christia Funkhouser-Ruckel and Shannon Simmons recipients of the A.G.E. Awards. These students have been accepted into the Hartford Partnership Program in Aging Education Program (HPPAE) Excellence in Serving Older Adults in the School of Social Work at California State University, Chico.  

In addition, Amber Lynn Farrell is this years recipient of the  Dr. Valene Smith Soroptimist Graduate Scholarship Endowment. Established by Dr. Valene Smith and SI Chico in 1982. This scholarship is awarded to a business or interdisciplinary graduate (Masters or Doctoral) student at California  State University, Chico who embody the Soropimist spirit of service.

Kyung Min Yeo will be honored in receiving the Soroptimist International Goodwill & Understanding Scholarship Endowment.  This scholarship is for non-resident international graduate students who have completed at least 24 units at California State University, Chico (CSUC).